One simple ingredient: Flour

wheat-free

It may seem like a silly question for those of us battling with gluten sensitivities; but, I feel like I have just had a rock thrown at my head.  Recently, it occurred to me that some people do not know anything about flour, which probably makes it all the harder to comprehend what needs to be avoided on a gluten free diet.

I thought, for me, I have only scratched the surface of information out there on what today’s foods are doing to our bodies.  I thought I was somewhat of a failure for not having all the facts.  I hate that word “failure” and am trying to avoid it, so to focus on the positive, let’s just say I am learning to accept that I have a world of information out there that I have an opportunity to experience.

What some know in one area, may lack in another.  Some of us have never used anything but a microwave to cook our meals, so how would we know the special ingredients that created the food on our plate? I commend the people I spoke to recently who admitted they were unsure where wheat and flour came from, instead of pretentiously nodding as if they knew what I was talking about.

So this is for all the people who have never baked a cake, or fried their own chicken.  Better yet, this is for all the people who know how to burn water.  I love you for wanting to know more.

Now let’s get back to the basics:

  • The most common flour sold in supermarkets comes from a popular plant crop called wheat.
  • Wheat is one of the largest crops grown in the U.S., next to corn, soy and cotton
  • After harvesting this plant, the kernels are separated from the stalk and ground into the fine powdery texture we see as flour.
  • Whole wheat flour contains the whole wheat kernel, while white flour has been stripped of most components of the seed, bleached, and fortified with the vitamins it lacks.

Wheat is sold in bulk for baking purposes, but it is also manufactured into the foods we consume daily:

  • bread
  • pizza dough
  • tortillas
  • pasta, such as spaghetti, tortellini , ravioli
  • crackers
  • breakfast pastries, such as muffins, donuts, scones, or bagels
  • pancakes, waffles, and biscuits
  • sweet bakery items, such as cookies and cake

And then there are foods that need flour to encourage its taste and texture:

  • fried chicken, or other fried foods like onion rings
  • gravy
  • cereal
  • meatballs, or meatloaf
  • canned soup
  • salad dressings and condiments

I want to let you know that this is just a short list of items containing wheat.  If you are looking to avoid it, I would highly recommend you avoid all processed foods as well as the items listed above.  Educate yourself and be open to different opinions.

If you have any questions, feel free to post a comment.

Leave a Reply

