Zest Bakery

GFAF expo 020

If you are ever in the San Francisco area, you have got to try this quaint little bakery located at 1224 Arroyo, San Carlos CA.   They offer breakfast and lunch items, including pastries, soup, sandwiches, and featured menu items of the day – all gluten free.

I was too busy looking at their display case, filled with cakes, muffins, breads, and scones, to take note of their lunch items.    A bay area local told me their sandwiches were to die for – another reason to take a road trip, stop in and try one, soon.  You can take a look at their new sandwich menu here.

GFAF expo 022

What I did purchase was the vegan, GF brownie and a vegan, ginger orange muffin.  The muffin was dense, similar to what I would find with my vegan muffins; although, it wasn’t heavy.  And very moist.

Orange GingerI apologize for the blurry picture of said muffin.  I was taking pictures while driving, as I could not hold out on the great taste once I started biting into it.

Most gluten free shops tend to be a little pricier than other bakeries, but I noticed their prices were realistic.  Most people probably spend more at Starbucks.  Their staff is very accommodating, which is another reason why this picky girl will be back for more.

Leave a Reply

