My Potted Garden 01-01-2013

I am pretty proud of myself!

I am focusing on my resolutions and already have some ideas on what I want this to look like. Uh-Oh!  I might be setting myself up with expectations.  But never fear – I will try to take everything with a grain of salt and accept any results that come my way.

I keep telling people that I am new to this, but the truth is that I have been killing plants for quite some time, maybe 15 years, off and on.  I didn’t grow up with any knowledge of gardening, and books are overwhelming.  Every year I tried creating some kind of garden.  Too much sun, not enough sun, weeds, clay dirt, soil amendment, different sized pots, keeping insects out (and those tomato worms – ugh!!), perennials, annuals  – the list goes on and on.  Of course, I might have had better luck if I had remembered to water.

Believe it or not, I think I am getting better:)

Looking forward to 2013, here begins resolution #1:  Tracking my herbs progress

This is not an herb, but I purchased this lovely plant this summer and am hoping to plant it in the yard when I find my happy place.  I am also hoping it attracts butterflies, maybe with flowers that will sometime bloom.  Don’t ask what type of plant it is – I couldn’t tell ya!

It will have a purpose someday

It will have a purpose someday

My current residence has too much shade, and all my plants require full sun!

Lavender is growing quite well.

Lavender is growing quite well.

The mint looks horrible.  I was told it grows within its boundaries, but its looking pretty dead right now, and colorless.

Mint - I have had since summer '12

Mint – I have had since summer ’11

The oregano also needs a little help.  Perhaps it is taking a vacation.

My oregano still going strong, although not too many leaves

My oregano still going strong, although not too many leaves

I received this aloe vera plant from my mother last year.  It was the same size it is now, only planted in the small pot seen in the photo background. After my tomatoes died recently, I decided it was time for the aloe vera to relocate.

It's huge - what am I going to do with it?

It’s huge – what am I going to do with it?

My primary concern right now are the three that I recently potted:

My horseradish is from a piece of my first plant that I attempted in 2012.  It was really small, so I am hoping fora bigger root this year.

Very tiny piece, trying for a new experience with this one

Very tiny piece, trying for a new experience with this one

The lentil was left on my sink accidentally and started sprouting.  It actually looked really good last week.  I am not sure why it is struggling today.

its drooping.  Not sure if its going to make it

its drooping. Not sure if its going to make it

and my basil. . . well, I am not even sure if I am supposed to plant seeds this time of year, but I am giving it a shot.

Nothing here yet

Nothing here yet

I forgot to add in my lemongrass, but take a look at the rest of my plants.  I realize they are not all herbs, but I had to show off some of my plants that I am trying to keep alive this year.

The one on the right is supposed to attract butterflies

The plant on the left never dies – it is my favorite – will bloom a flower soon.

And I love all creatures.  There will be a few inhabitants from time to time.  I don’t know how to keep them away.  This one particularly caught my attention last year in my neighbors tree.  You can’t see him, but he left his beautiful artwork.

This was captured high in the branches.  I don't see the eensie weensie spider

This was captured high in the branches. I don’t see the eensie weensie spider

So, my potted garden is full of other vegetation other than herbs.  My dream is to have a small garden outdoors and herbs growing along my windowsill of my happy place.   I visualize myself in my kitchen, pinching off some herbs as I look out the window at my beautiful backyard.  The butterflies are bouncing from plant to tree, while my dogs bask in the sun watching curiously.

Here is the first step of action towards my visualization.

If you are struggling with learning a new skill or goal, keep moving towards it.  Be patient.  Give yourself credit for how far you have come – and don’t compare yourself to others.

Goodnight everyone.  Here’s to a wonderful year filled with abundance and prosperity.

Leave a comment