Black-Eyed Peas & Mustard Greens

Last summer I had a glorious idea of jarring mustard as Christmas gifts for all my friends. The first step was to purchase a mustard plant to produce the seeds. How exciting this was going to be!

The mustard plant grew beautiful long leaves. Months passed and I began reviewing my mustard recipe. . .it called for 5 cups of mustard seed. . . Hmmm. . .
my plant did not have one seed on it.

How in the world was I going to get that much seed?

I guess I had not thought of how much involvement this would take as I referred back to my recipe. And again, no seed on mustard plant. ugh!

So Christmas has come and gone. I made my first jarring food –
Quince Marmalade. It was easier than I imagined and I believe it came out quite amazing! I am proud to say it was a unique creation and I will try and do it again this year!

Now back to this mustard plant. . . I added a leaf to my salad. Have to say I didn’t quite enjoy it! Mustard leaf has quite a strong, bitter taste to it. I want to utilize this plant, but how?

Googled “what to do with mustard greens” !!


Which led me to this recipe:

    1/2-cup black-eyed peas cooked to tender
    (I had picked up fresh beans at my local farmer’s market)
    2 big leaves of mustard greens finely chopped
    1 tomato finely chopped
    2 garlic cloves crushed

    After the beans became tender, I added the mustard greens, garlic and tomato, then the following seasoning:

    sprinkle of pepper
    ½ teaspoon each – cumin and grated nutmeg
    ½ teaspoon each – turmeric and salt
    ½ inch piece of ginger

I tend to be pretty flexible with my seasoning, so I add a few more sprinkles of turmeric and salt, plus a sprinkle of cumin as its simmering and the mustard greens are getting softer. Tonight I made it again for the 2nd time and added some chili pepper.

Yummy! I love it when my veges don’t go to waste 🙂

Adapted from recipe at http://www.nandyala.org/mahanandi/archives/2008/04/24/lobia-and-sarson-with-matta-rice/

One thought on “Black-Eyed Peas & Mustard Greens

Leave a Reply

