Eggless French Toast

This last week I have been out of my gluten free oatmeal. I haven’t been as good with my breakfast choices. Fruit makes me hungry after an hour. Without eggs, it seems almost impossible to create a breakfast. Potatoes are my favorite. When I eat at a breakfast restaurant, I love to have the cook mix potatoes with spinach, mushrooms, bell pepper and any other vegetable in house. Top it with an avocado and I feel exceptionally catered ~ ~ but potatoes probably aren’t the best food to consume all week.

A couple of days ago, I could not stand my cravings for sandwiches any longer. I found a gluten free bread recipe, breathed in a gasp of courage, and went into bakery mode in my little kitchen. It turned out wonderful! Added some dry chicken (I was in a hurry trying to cook it), some lettuce, mustard and avocado. It was sooooo good!! I was very pleased! Bread was, of course, crumbly; however, fresh out of the oven, created the right experience for my sandwich.

Now what to do with my leftover bread. . .

Today, I woke, started my housecleaning and had the revelation to make french toast. I began looking for eggless french toast recipes online, but then realized it might just be easier to make french toast the way I would have normally but with egg and milk substitutions.

And this is what I came up with. . .

I began by getting my egg substitution ready:
1 TBS flax seed
3 TBS warm water

I stirred the mixture repeatedly until it became a little thick (about a minute). Then put in fridge to settle while I whipped up the other ingredients:

1 1/4 c. almond milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. cinnamon

Then to be a little on the creative side, added:

sprinkle of quinoa flakes
sprinkle of coconut flakes

I later thought crushed walnuts would have been outstanding

Went back to fridge for my egg substitute. Mixed it a little more and added it to my milk mixture. Whipped it together. Ready

I used my leftover gluten free bread to dip into the milk mixture and placed it in a coconut buttered frying pan. Browned on one side, flip. Waited for browning. Done

Put on plate. Poured Maple Syrup on top.

It was divine 🙂

Topped with Bananas for an additional pleasure of yumness

Leave a Reply

